Skip links and keyboard navigation

Mackay/Whitsunday Region

The Mackay/Whitsunday Region extends from Bowen in the north to St Lawrence in the south, and from the coast inland to Dysart and Glenden.

Aerial view of the coastline

About Mackay Whitsunday Region

Area: 158,167km2
Population: Around 163,000
Industries: Sugar, mining, tourism, grain, beef

Road contact information

For road information, the department’s Mackay office is the main point of contact for residents, industry and business.

For the latest information on road conditions visit the Traffic and Travel Information website or phone 13 19 40.

Mackay office

Visit the Mackay office if you are looking for information on design and infrastructure of the roads, road corridor permits, road signs, traffic management plans, road conditions, excess mass dimension and wide load permits, property access and searches or development enquiries.

Please note: If you need to visit a customer service centre for transport enquiries like vehicle registration, licensing, driving test bookings and vehicle inspections. The Mackay customer service centre for transport enquiries is at a different location to the office below.

Phone: 07 4951 8555
Fax: 07 4951 8500
Post: PO Box 62
Mackay Qld 4740
Location: Level 2
Mackay Government Office Building
44 Nelson Street
Mackay Qld 4740

Interesting facts and figures 

Mackay/Whitsunday region road facts 

Road network

Visit the traffic and travel information website for the latest update. 

  • Bruce Highway (Rockhampton–Ayr)
  • Gregory Highway (Emerald–Mt Douglas)
  • Peak Downs Highway (Clermont–Mackay)
  • Suttor Developmental Road (Nebo–Mt Coolon)
  • Fitzroy Developmental Road (Dingo–Mt Flora)
  • Bowen Developmental Road (Bowen–Mt Douglas)
  • Gregory Developmental Road (Clermont–Belyando Crossing)
  • Marlborough–Sarina Road
  • Oxford Downs–Sarina Road
  • Homebush Road
  • Sarina–Homebush Road
  • Eton–Homebush Road
  • Dysart–Middlemount Road
  • Glenella Connection Road
  • Rockleigh–North Mackay Road
  • Mackay–Eungella Road
  • Marian–Eton Road
  • Mirani–Eton Road
  • Marian–Hampden Road
  • Mirani–Mt Ossa Road
  • Clermont Connection Road
  • Clermont–Alpha Road
  • Proserpine–Shute Harbour Road
  • Hay Point Road
  • Mt Ossa–Seaforth Road
  • Yakapari–Seaforth Road
  • Mackay–Bucasia Road
  • Mackay–Slade Point Road
  • St Lawrence Connection Road
  • May Downs Road
  • St Lawrence–Croydon Road
  • Koumala–Bolingbroke Road
  • Blue Mountain Road
  • Maraju–Yakapari Road
  • Collinsville–Elphinstone Road
  • Kilcummun–Diamond Downs Road
  • Gargett–Mia Mia Road
  • Eungella Dam Road
  • North Eton Road
  • Mia Mia Connection Road
  • Crystal Brook Road
  • Gregory–Cannon Valley Road
  • Mackay–Habana Road
  • Sarina–Coast Road
  • Yakapari–Habana Road
  • Eimeo Road

Local government

Places of interest

  • Mackay
  • Eungella
  • Dysart
  • Middlemount
  • Great Barrier Reef
  • Colinsville
  • Clermont
  • Whitsunday Coast
  • Mackay Port
  • Palm Bay Coney Island
Last updated
18 May 2015