Site navigation
Department of Transport and Main Roads

Queensland Accessible Transport Advisory Council

Customers boarding a train at an assisted boarding platform

About the Queensland Accessible Transport Advisory Council

The Queensland Accessible Transport Advisory Council (the Council) is an independent advisory body. It was established to provide strategic policy and accessibility advice on significant transport and infrastructure projects across the Queensland Government transport portfolio.

The Council engages with stakeholders at the start and during other important stages of the project lifecycle. It uses best practice principles of inclusion and accessibility to increase the inclusion and participation of people with disability in the Queensland transport system.

The Council does not provide legal advice to meet compliance requirements under legislation or regulations. It works with stakeholders to critically analyse and problem-solve complex accessibility issues, and guide stakeholders to apply a universal design approach and co-design processes.

The Council also proactively informs the Minister about accessibility issues impacting Queensland public transport users. During the Council's current term, it is particularly interested in learning about and contributing to:

  • modelling co-design and universal design approaches during the concept, planning or procurement stages of public transport projects
  • accessibility of transport information and communication
  • projects that demonstrate best practice or innovation in accessibility and inclusion
  • key transport projects that are connecting regional Queenslanders.

To fulfil its functions, the Council holds up to 12 meetings each year. It invites submissions from stakeholders for strategic guidance on public transport accessibility. The Council also engages across the transport network to identify and share best practice and innovation in inclusive transport design.

The Council is jointly administered by:

  • Department of Transport and Main Roads
  • Queensland Rail
  • supported with a Department of Transport and Main Roads appointed secretariat.

All appointments to the Council are made according to the Queensland Cabinet Handbook.

Read the Council's Terms of Reference. For more information or to connect with the Council, contact

Council Chair and members

The Council consists of:

  • the Chair
  • 7 independent members appointed by the Minister for Transport and Main Roads for a term of up to 3 years
  • 1 Department of Transport and Main Roads representative
  • 1 Queensland Rail representative.

In March 2021, the Minister for Transport and Main Roads announced the 7 new independent members of the Council.

A number of members have a lived disability, including hidden disabilities. Find out more about the Chair and Council members.

For more information on the Council, contact

Last updated 19 December 2023