Skip links and keyboard navigation

Bruce Highway Upgrade Program: Central Queensland Township Entry Treatments


Township Entry Treatments are being introduced on the Bruce Highway in Central Queensland as a key community and road safety improvement. Township entry treatments will define lower speed zones in built up areas by including signage and pavement marking at the entry point to highway communities. They signify locations where the highway speed limit reduces to the lower signed speed within a township.


Bruce Highway between Miriam Vale and Marlborough.


July 2019.


Township Entry Treatments have proven to be a successful road safety initiative used internationally, including New Zealand and the United Kingdom. They have been found to be effective in reducing both vehicle speeds and the number and severity of road crashes.


Construction contract awarded to Dingo Road Services January 2019.


$800,000 (100% Federally funded).

Central Region - Fitzroy District

Project info

In 2019, 8 Township Entry Treatments will be installed on the Bruce Highway in Central Queensland. Locations include from North to South:

  • Marlborough
  • Yaamba
  • The Caves
  • Marmor
  • Mt Larcom
  • Benaraby
  • Bororen
  • Miriam Vale

The Township Entry Treatments will be installed between March 2019 and July 2019 by Dingo Road Services.

A pilot study was conducted at 6 towns in Queensland during 2015-16 currently there are more than 20 towns that have Township Entry Treatments, more information can be found on our Township Entry Treatments page.

The Bruce Highway Upgrade Program (BHUP) is jointly funded by the Australian Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities (DIRDC), and the Queensland Government, through the Department of Transport and Main Roads. The BHUP is a $12.6 billion, 15-year program of works (2013-14 to 2027-28) to improve safety, flood resilience and capacity along the Bruce Highway.

Contact details

Phone: 07 4931 1500
Last updated
09 July 2020