Skip links and keyboard navigation

Information for operators

Regulating safety in Queensland

Rail safety in Queensland is now regulated by the Office of the National Rail Safety Regulator to allow for national consistency. Rail transport operators will commence operating under the Rail Safety National Law (Queensland) Act 2017 from 1 July 2017. The Rail Safety National Law (Queensland) Act 2017 applies the Rail Safety National Law.

No-blame investigations

The Australian Transport Safety Bureau is an independent Commonwealth Government statutory agency governed by a commission and will be the National Rail Safety Investigator in Queensland. The bureau's function is to improve safety and public confidence in the aviation, marine and rail modes of transport through excellence in:

  • independent investigation of transport accidents and other safety occurrences
  • safety data recording, analysis and research
  • fostering safety awareness, knowledge and action. 

From 1 July 2017, the bureau will conduct no-blame safety investigations of rail occurrences across Australia. Their role will occur concurrently with the regulator overseeing rail safety regulation in each state and territory.

Reports from previous investigations conducted by the Department of Transport and Main Roads are available by contacting Safer Rail at

Investigation fee

The Australian Transport Safety Bureau is the National Rail Safety Investigator in Queensland, responsible for all no-blame investigations. The bureau is funded through the rail safety investigation fee, detailed in the Rail Safety National Law (Queensland) Regulation 2017. 

This fee was introduced at the time Queensland’s rail safety regulation and no-blame investigation services transitioned to the national regime, as the services rail operators previously paid one annual fee for were split across 2 organisations. The cost recovery model was developed to ensure that rail operators subject to the fee will not be required to pay any more than they paid for both accreditation and investigation services under the state-based system. 

The fee will be collected from high frequency rail operators who are most likely to be subject to a no-blame rail safety investigation by the bureau and operators will pay fees relative to the size of their operation. Only the amount required to pay the bureau will be collected.

The fee will be collected by 31 August in the financial year for which it is payable, based on data from the previous calendar year. The total kilometres of high frequency operators in 2017 was: 39,656,027km. This figure will be used to calculate the fees for 2018-19.

Safety complaints

All concerns and complaints about rail safety can be reported directly to the Australian Transport Safety Bureau for investigation.

Last updated
20 December 2018