Skip links and keyboard navigation

B-triple road network access

On 10 February 2014 the Heavy Vehicle National Law 2012 (HVNL) commenced, replacing existing laws governing the operation of all vehicles over 4.5 tonnes gross vehicle mass in Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, the Australian Capital Territory and Tasmania.

The National Heavy Vehicle Regulator (NHVR) was established to administer the HVNL.  The NHVR is now the first point of contact for the majority of your heavy vehicle business.

B-triple road network access

Establishing a national B-triple network is a key freight-efficiency initiative under the Council of Australian Governments (COAG).

B-triples have been successfully operating in Queensland since 1996 and have been proven as a freight-efficient heavy vehicle combination that contributes to regional development, improving road safety and reducing adverse environmental impacts through fewer trips.

Typically, 1 B-triple has equivalent carrying capacity of 2 semi-trailers.

Queensland provides an extensive road network for B-triple access, with most areas west of the Great Dividing Range approved for access, covering approximately 21,700km of the arterial network.

B-triple network map is available that outlines Queensland's approved B-triple network.

Work is currently underway to extend existing B-triple network access to key freight hubs, such as Townsville and Gladstone, where this can be safely achieved.

Last updated
24 August 2017