Skip links and keyboard navigation

Historical milestones

  • 1997 – Finalisation of the Native Title Work Procedures for Decision Making guidelines to encourage a network of good working relationships with First Nations groups.
  • 1998 – Appointment of Leann Wilson as the first Native Title and Cultural Heritage Officer.
  • 1999 – First major roadworks project in North West Queensland to have a Cultural Heritage Management Plan developed and implemented. We worked in close cooperation with local First Nations Peoples and Cloncurry Shire Council to complete the important Devoncourt Deviation upgrade on the Cloncurry-Dajarra road, on schedule.
  • 2000 – A draft Indigenous Cultural Heritage Management Supplementary Guidelines document was produced after statewide consultation and was trialled by officers in all regions. Native Title and Cultural Heritage Officers were appointed in several districts.
  • 2002 – All major projects included a Cultural Heritage assessment and the implementation of Cultural Heritage Management Plans with First Nations partners employed on site.
  • 2004 – South East Queensland's first Cultural Heritage Management Plan implemented on the major Bruce Highway upgrade between Yandina and Cooroy.