Site navigation
Department of Transport and Main Roads


The Transport and Main Roads Specifications are grouped into five categories. Each specification suite may consist of a Technical Specification (MRTS) and/or a Specification (Measurement) (MRS), with Annexures as required.

The Sixth Edition of the Specifications Manual was released in July 2017. This edition contains 5-digit WINs for all Specification (Measurement) documents. All associated MRTS (Technical Specifications) and Annexures were re-dated to July 2017 at this time.

Specification categories

All specifications must be read in conjunction with the overarching specifications.

Category 1: Overarching Specifications
Category 2: Bridges, Marine and Structures
Category 3: Roadworks, Drainage, Culverts and Geotechnical
Category 4: Electrical and ITS
Category 5: Pavements, Subgrade and Surfacing
Category 6: Rail and Other

The full list of Specifications sorted in numerical order is also available.

The Amendment Register summarises the significant changes to each specification over time.

Some superseded specifications are available for reference.

Contract Administration System (CAS) checklists

Within Transport and Main Roads Contract Administration System (CAS) there are a series of checklists, which in many cases are associated to specifications. The checklists are a reference guide to assist Superintendent teams to manage a contract administration system for Construction Contracts. To enable users quick access to checklists, a link has been provided against the respective specification.

Notifications and feedback

Image of an eye, indicating this page can be subscribed to. Click here to subscribe.

Subscribe to receive email alerts about Specifications updates. If you have an existing subscription, you can update your email preferences OR unsubscribe, should you no longer wish to receive emails.

For feedback or enquires about Specifications, please email Technical Publications.

Last updated 28 March 2024