Skip links and keyboard navigation

Township Entry Treatments

TET in Killarney

Township Entry Treatment in Killarney

Township Entry Treatments

A Township Entry Treatment (TET) is a speed management measure that involves providing new signs and line marking at the point of transition from a high speed rural environment to a lower speed environment to coincide with entering a township.

The TET program has also been rolled out in New Zealand and the United Kingdom, with both countries recording a reduction in travel speeds and crash rates by enhancing the drivers’ awareness to the changing environment.

Towns to receive a TET are selected based on several factors, such as crash data, and whether the town has a speed limit transition of at least 20km/h.

Depending on the location, a TET may include the installation of:

  • special speed limit signs that include the name of the town on both sides of the road
  • narrowed lane widths to further encourage slower speeds
  • red pavement surface treatment in both traffic lanes
  • painted road shoulder markings 
  • painted medians for wider road widths

Townships with TETs installed

  • Benaraby
  • Blackbutt
  • Boonah
  • Bororen
  • Burnett Heads
  • Cabarlah
  • Cloncurry
  • Collinsville
  • Drillham
  • Dulacca
  • Eidsvold
  • Gatton
  • Gayndah
  • Greenmount
  • Killarney
  • Marian
  • Marlborough 
  • Marmor 
  • Miriam Vale
  • Mount Larcom
  • Murgon
  • Nanango
  • Ningi
  • Normanton
  • Pittsworth
  • Rainbow Beach
  • Surat
  • Tara
  • The Caves
  • Tin Can Bay
  • Walkerston
  • Walloon
  • Wallumbilla
  • Wamuran
  • Wyreema
  • Yaamba
  • Yangan
  • Yuleba  

TET at Pittsworth
TET at Pittsworth

Fact sheet

Township Entry Treatments fact sheet

Last updated
09 September 2021