Skip links and keyboard navigation


Eye imageWant to be notified when Specifications are updated? You can now subscribe to receive email alerts when we make changes to them. If you have a subscription and no longer wish to receive emails, you can also unsubscribe.


The Transport and Main Roads Specifications are grouped into five categories. Each specification suite may consist of a Technical Specification (MRTS) and/or a Specification (Measurement) (MRS), with Annexures as required.

Within Transport and Main Roads Contract Administration System (CAS) there are a series of checklists, which in many cases are associated to specifications.

The checklists are a reference guide to assist Superintendent teams to manage a contract administration system for Construction Contracts. To enable users quick access to checklists, a link has been provided against the respective specification. Checklists may reference either the Road Construction Contract (RCC) or the Transport Infrastructure Contract (TIC).

Edition 6 of the Specifications Manual has been released with 5-digit WINs now contained in all Specification (Measurement) documents. All associated MRTS (Technical Specifications) and Annexures have been redated to July 17.

Specification categories

All specifications must be read in conjunction with the overarching specifications.

Category 1: Overarching Specifications
Category 2: Bridges, Marine and Structures
Category 3: Roadworks, Drainage, Culverts and Geotechnical
Category 4: Electrical and ITS
Category 5: Pavements, Subgrade and Surfacing

full list of Specifications sorted in numerical order is also available.

Amendment Register 

To access superseded documents please visit the Standard specifications roads - superseded page.

For feedback or enquiries about specifications, please email the Technical Documents Unit.

Last updated
14 September 2018