Site navigation
Department of Transport and Main Roads

Remote Areas Consultative Group

The Remote Areas Consultative Group (RACG) was originally established in the mid ‘90s. The RACG consists of the 4 ‘remote’ jurisdictions, namely, Queensland, Northern Territory, South Australia and Western Australia and is sponsored by the Chief Executives of the respective jurisdictions.

The RACG has the following functions:

  • To act as an advisory body to provide jurisdictions and other federal and national agencies responsible for the road transport reform process, a remote areas perspective on proposed and existing reforms.
  • To resolve cross border issues between jurisdictions at an operational level.
  • To report to the relevant states/territories Chief Executive Officers of the Remote Area Transport Agencies (RA TACE) members following each RACG meeting. Queensland hosted the RACG for the 2014–2016 period and has since handed hosting responsibilities to the Northern Territory.


The principal objectives of RACG are as follows:

  • Improve the efficiency and productivity of transport in remote Australia whilst maximising safety and environmental outcomes.
  • Ensure that remote area operators and jurisdictions have a role in the formulation of the three3 year National Transport Commission (NTC) Strategic Plan.
  • Advise the NTC on priority reforms for remote areas and views from a remote area perspective on national reform proposals.
  • Identify and resolve where possible, inter-jurisdictional barriers to effective cross-border operations for road transport.
  • Provide a platform for remote area operators and senior agency officers to exchange information, views and to discuss issues and recommend solutions to problems.
  • Provide a forum for consultation on a range of road transport issues relating to remote areas.


Current members include:

  • Department of Transport and Main Roads (TMR)
  • Industry Accreditation Service Providers (IASP) 
  • Livestock and Rural Transporters Association (LRTAQ)
  • Queensland Trucking Association (QTA)
  • National Transport Commission (NTC)
  • National Heavy Vehicle Regulator (NHVR)
  • National Road Transport Association (NRTA)
  • Australian Road Research Board (ARRB Group)
  • Truck Industry Council (TIC)
  • Department of Main Roads (WA)
  • Western Australia Livestock and Rural Transport Association (WARTA)
  • Livestock and Rural Transport Association of WA (LRTA)
  • Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure (DPTI)
  • Livestock and Rural Transporters Association of South Australia (LRTA SA)
  • Department of Lands and Planning and the Environment (DLPE)
  • Department of Transport (DOT)
  • Northern Territory Road Transport Association (NTRTA)


A communiqué is provided for general information after each meeting:




Future communiqué’s can also be accessed through the NTC website.

Contact information

Remote Areas Consultative Group
Transport Strategy and Planning
GPO Box 213

Last updated 07 September 2022