Site navigation
Department of Transport and Main Roads

Port governance

There are 4 port government owned corporations (GOC) which manage 19 government owned ports, comprising 14 trading ports, 2 community ports and 3 non-trading ports. The Port of Brisbane is managed and developed by the privately owned Port of Brisbane Pty Ltd under a 99-year lease from the Queensland Government. Rio Tinto Limited owns, operates and manages the Chith Export Facility which services the Amrun bauxite mine.

Queensland’s port GOCs are corporatised entities which principally operate under the provisions of the Government Owned Corporations Act 1993 and the Transport Infrastructure Act 1994. This legislative regime enables the Queensland government to retain ownership of the port GOCs through shareholding Ministers and to set overall strategic direction.

Each port GOC has an independent Board of Directors, who are accountable to 2 shareholding Ministers; the Treasurer and the Minister responsible for transport.

The Department of Transport and Main Roads and Queensland Treasury monitor the performance and provides oversight over Queensland’s 4 port GOCs on behalf of the shareholding Ministers.  

Last updated 12 July 2023